Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish

 

t5w

I’m back with my take on this week’s Top 5 Wednesday. The topic for this time is: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish. T5W is hosted by Sam over at ThoughtsOnTomes and the Goodreads group’s information will be linked here. I’m not saying that these books are bad in any way, they just took me a really long time to get though them. My choices are in no particular order so LET’S BEGIN!

 

Why We Broke Up – Daniel Handler

I don’t even know why, but I think it took me a month to read this book.  Out of these 5 books, this one is probably the easiest to read. It’s pretty much a story of a girl talking about all of these items that she accumulated throughout her relationship and why she’s giving it back to her significant other. It was an interesting read because every time she would talk about a new item, there would be a full page illustration of it and the story of how it came about in their relationship. I think that I just lost interest in the book at about halfway. It felt repetitive; from what I remember, it was a bunch of “I got this item from when we went to this place and whatnot. Because of that, this is why we’re breaking up” for most of the book. I think that is what kept me from finishing this book quicker.

The Darkest Minds – Alexandra Bracken 

I was so hooked on concept of this book that I think I liked it better than the actual novel itself. I remember reading this book and then dropping it for 3 months, only to come back to it super disinterested. I was more than halfway and I forgot what happened, but I didn’t want to restart the book so I just went with it. By the end of it, I didn’t even care about starting the next book. I’m sure I would’ve liked it better if I read it all in one go, but I didn’t. This is one of the series that I won’t be continuing.

A Game of Thrones – George R R Martin

I think this book took long for me to finish because of how lengthy it is. I picked the book up and put it down over the span of 5 months because I kept restarting and stopping. I was so used to how fast paced the show is compared to the book. I just wasn’t reading fast enough. It was still a great read!

The Hobbit – J R R Tolkien

Normally, a book this size would’ve taken me a day or two to finish. This wasn’t like the other books. The Hobbit started out so cool and adventurous, but something kept distracting me. Sleep. Every time I cracked this book open, I would be asleep within 10 minutes. I don’t think it was the books fault! I read this during my senior year of high school and I barely got enough sleep during that time; I would usually sleep extremely late and wake up super early. It was still an interesting read.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters – Laini Taylor

This was one of the biggest books that I’ve read last year; it had 600+ pages and moved in a slow pace. With those major factors, this book took me longer than expected to read. Although it was a great way to end the series, the journey from beginning to end took so incredibly long! I was also working during the holiday season as well, so I barely had time to read at all.

 


 

And I think that this is all for now. As always, thanks for reading and I’ll see you in the next post!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish

  1. thesassygeek says:

    Awesome list! I have A Dance With Dragons on my list this week because it was the longest in that series for me, A Game of Thrones and the others didn’t take me quite as long as this one they are definitely very lengthy books! I’m glad that even though it took a while to finish The Hobbit that you still liked it as it seems a lot of people that didn’t zip through it didn’t enjoy it at all, it’s one of my favorite books!
    I’ve only read Daughter of Smoke and Bone so far but I can’t wait to finish the series and Dreams of Gods and Monsters is pretty big so I have a feeling it will take me a bit to get through that one too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmin says:

      Thanks! I know that I’ll get to the rest of the A Song of Ice and Fire series….eventually. They’re really intimidating. The Hobbit took me a while but it was still good. I hope you enjoy the rest of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

