August & September Book Haul & Wrap Up

These are the books that I’ve bought this month:

20160831_0108001

(Synopses linked to Goodreads)

Milk and Honey

The Assassin’s Blade

A Torch Against the Night

Illuminae

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

The 3 Books I’ve read in August are: 

A Court of Mist and Fury – Rating: 4.75 Stars

This book was probably the wildest book that I’ve read so far this year. I don’t even know where to begin because there is so much to talk about. Since this is a wrap up, I’m going to try to keep it short. When I first started the book, I was worried about how long I was going to get into it because of how lengthy the book is; it’s literally thicker than a brick. I thought that pacing issues were also going to be a thing because of the books length. Many situations can be dragged out or rushed when you have a book this big, but this was not the case at all. Everything felt essential to the story and was well thought out. I greatly appreciated how much Feyre changed and grew as a character in this novel.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Rating: 3 Stars

Whenever I look at this book, I’m never sure how to feel about it. I have had a few people ask me about my thoughts about the novel and all I can ever give them is a shrug and an,”I mean, I guess I enjoyed it”. A few of the things that I did love about about this book is that we were placed back into the world that we want to be in with the characters that we all know and love.

Milk and Honey – Rating: 4 Stars

I’m not entirely sure how I’m supposed to rate poetry, but this was one of the books that hit me so hard in the feelings in such a short amount of time.

 

And now for my September books: 

20160929_1351391

(Synopses linked to Goodreads)

Queen of Shadows

The Beauty of Darkness

Crooked Kingdom

The 2 books that I read in September are: 

 

The Unexpected Everything – Rating: 3.75 Stars

The Unexpected Everything isn’t my favourite Morgan Matson book, but I still enjoyed it very much!

Truthwitch – Rating: 3.5 Stars

Thank goodness I didn’t know what I was getting into.

I bought this book when it first came out because of the hype, but I didn’t pick it up until now. I’m glad that I waited to read this book because I would’ve been a little disappointed with it.

I thought Truthwitch was an okay read with cool characters, amazing friendships, and a solid storyline. To me, the novel lacked in world building and had a few lackluster side characters; I wish that both of the negatives in the story had more depth to them. I just wanted a little more explanation during the beginning about the magic system and how everything correlates politically.

I will still continue with the series though. I want to hold on long enough to see where this story will take Safi and Iseult in Windwitch

Leave a Reply

