Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite First Sentences

t5w

I’m finally back with another Top 5 Wednesday after the longest time ever! I know that it says “first sentence”, but I couldn’t choose just 1. I had to include more sentences, but I limited myself to 4 at most. I’m sorry for ‘cheating’, but I couldn’t help myself. Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly feature now hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes The T5W’s information will be in the goodreads group here if you’re interested in participating next week. This week’s topic are my top 5 favourite first sentences in no particular order. Here we go!

5. The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

“Even before he got electrocuted, Jason was having a rotten day. He woke in the backseat of a school bus, not sure where he was, holding hands with a girl he didn’t know.”

The Lost Hero is the first book where we see the story unfold in the eyes of brand new characters. I like how we’re thrown into the same situation as an equally confused Jason and are eager to find out what is happening.

4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

“I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen. The first of these came as a terrible shock and, like anything that changes you forever, split my life into halves: Before and After.”

I just love these first few sentences; they make it sound like a typical “everything changed when this-and-that happened” story but still grasps your attention with the way the words come together through mystery and curiosity.

3. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

“It’s midnight, it’s sweltering, and I might be high on Vicodin, but that guy–that guy right over there-that’s him. The him. His posture is as familiar as a recurring dream.”

This book starts off with an impulsive decision made by Isla, high on pain medication, and I love it. Immediately, I want to know about who this guy is, what his deal is with Isla, and what she plans on doing with him. Spontaneous actions are done, hijinks ensue.

2. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

“My big brother reaches home in the dark hours before dawn, when even ghosts take their rest. He smells of steel and coal and forge. He smells of the enemy.”

It is amazing how fast these words can build atmosphere. I already have a picture painted in my head everytime I read these few lines. Once again, I feel mystery because it makes we wonder what Laia’s brother was doing out so late at night smelling all funky.

1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

“First the colours. Then the humans. That’s usually how I see things. Or at least, how I try.”

The Book Thief is the absolute first for me for reading in Death’s point of view. I just thought that it was super interesting. I don’t even know why I love these first sentences so much. I just do!


This has been my take on this week’s T5W. As always, thanks for reading and I’ll see you soon!

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite First Sentences

  1. Emma says:

    The Book Thief made it onto my Top 5 too – such a good line and such an interesting narrative style 🙂

    I haven’t read a lot Rick Riordan (tbh only Magnus Chase because I love Norse mythology) but his opening lines are always such fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmin says:

      I love The Book Thief so much! It’s not everyday you get to read through the eyes of Death. I actually haven’t read Magnus Chase yet, but with Rick Riordan’s writing, I already know that the opening lines and probably the entire book is a great time

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

