The Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag

I saw this tag on youtube the other day on Alana’s channel over at King Books, and I thought it would be fun to do to finally post something that isn’t a wrap up HAHA. This tag is all about the look and feel of your favourite books. Book Syrup is the creator of this tag and the link to her video is here. I want to focus on the books I have on my own shelf (with the exception of Best Spine) so I can show the actual things like chapter headers and illustrations rather than just the front cover. Okay? Okay, let’s get started!

1. Best colour combo on a book cover

20160619_010557[1]

 

If I had to pick my favourite Heroes of Olympus cover, it would have to be The House of Hades (with Son of Neptune right on its tail). I think that the purple and orange colours work so well together to make the setting of the cover so miserable. I love it. The blue towards the bottom compliments the orange as well. All in all, I’m obsessed with this cover.

 

2. Best typography/font on a book cover

20160619_010635[1]

I LOVE this cover in general, but I think that the way the title is written really ties everything together. The sharpie-look is very fitting; it’s exactly how I would imagine Lara Jean’s writing to be like. I just love how it’s written in sharpie. It looks so cute! The accented colours also add to the look of a cute contemporary novel (pink in this book and blue in the sequel). I can’t wait to see what the third book will look like.

3. Best simple cover

20160619_010732[1]

 

So simple, but so great. The mint colour is one of my favourite colours ever! The title really pops because of how the red compliments the green. Cath, Levi, Simon, and Baz are drawn so cutely too. Sometimes simplicity is all you need.

 

 

 

4. Best endpages

20160619_010900[1]I could’ve used A Monster Calls for so many of the categories because of how beautiful the book is in every way but ultimately, this book had the best endpages. It was the only book that had something other than a map/a solid colour. I love the blue background and white outlines.

 

 
5. Best map

20160619_011004[1]

I know that I posted this map before in one of my previous posts, but The Kiss of Deception’s map is my favourite one. I love how you can see the main kingdoms and what the castles look like as a whole. The sepia toned pages gives the map an old feeling. I also love the sigils of the main kingdoms. To me, this map is perfect.

 

6. Best naked hardback

20160619_011216[1]

 

There are words to describe how much I love this novel looks without the dust jacket. The front cover has a violet and a finch amongst the stars. ITS SO BEAUTIFUL. BLESS THE DESIGNER. The yellow on white is genius.

 

7. Best back cover

20160619_011316[1]

 

This question was a little hard to find a book for. Most of my books have very plain backs. I chose Since You’ve Been Gone because on the back, it is the list that Sloane left for Emily. The book was such an adventure and I loved every single event on it.

 

 

 

8. Best chapter headers

20160619_011811[1]

Six of Crows is possibly the greatest looking book I have ever set my eyes on. The chapter headers look great as well. The black wing doubles as a night sky and the smoky background doubles as buildings. It is such a cool looking header. I’m excited to see what Crooked Kingdom is going to look like.

 

9. Best illustrations

20160619_012458[1]

These illustrations are from the book Everything, Everything. The novel is filled with so many more drawings, charts, and diagrams. There is an abundance of drawings scattered throughout the whole book so it was hard to choose which I wanted to feature. Cute pictures for a cute book.

 

 

10. Best spine

20160616_003545[1]

I think that I retract my comment about Six of Crows being the greatest looking book I have ever set eyes on because have you seen this book? It is so beautiful and well made. I could go on an on about how much I love the spine, but I’ll just let you stare at this masterpiece.

 

 
11. Favourite cover on your shelves

20160619_012737[1]

I couldn’t just choose one cover for this question. I was thinking about showing the Heroes of Olympus series, but I didn’t want to do any repeats of anything so I pulled out The Winner’s Trilogy instead. The Winner’s Curse is the real winner here, but I wanted to showcase the whole series. The dresses are so beautiful and the typography is on point.

 

12. Tag 3 friends to do this tag

I tag:

Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much

Aentee @ Read at Midnight

Emma @ Emma the Book Lover

and everyone else who wants to do this tag

As always, thanks for reading!

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag

  1. Dracoluxtris says:

    Let’s all take a moment and inhale deeply for a second (or at least I should), because DESIGN IS SO IMPORTANT AND YESWEJUDGEBOOKSBYTHECOVERS.

    On another note, the cover for All The Bright Places looks amaaazinggg (pray that no nasty fingers ruin the white). I’m surprised you didn’t pick Six of Crows for one of the other categories!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jasmin says:

      I was going to choose Six of Crows for best map because damn the book came with TWO of them BUT NOPE. It had the coolest chapter headers out of all of my books, so it had to go under that category

      Like

Leave a Reply

