February and March Book Haul & Wrap Up

I think that I’ll start doing wrap ups for every two months from now on. I didn’t buy any books in February, but I did read a total of 5 books this month. I would also like to say that I had a fantastic reading month.

These are the books that I’ve read in February:

 

Me Before You – Rating: 5 Stars

I want to start off saying that I loved this book so much. I have so many feelings towards this book. I put off reading Me Before You for the longest time ever, until I saw the trailer for the movie. Our main two characters felt so real. I thought Louisa was a very relatable protagonist; she reminded me about myself and how she isn’t the most ambitious person on the block, but is extremely caring, thoughtful, and hard working . And then you have Will. Before his accident, he was an ambitious man of adventure and exploration. Together, they change each others’ lives and learn from one another. I really loved their relationship and how much they grew in their character arcs. The writing was so easy to fall into. I ended up reading more than half of the book in one night. Long story short, I highly recommend this book. Just be prepared with tissues handy.

The Mark of Athena – Rating: 4.5 Stars

We’re back with another instalment of our favourite heroes. I think my favourite part about this book was that we got to see everyone come together as a team and kick butt. I don’t know what it is, but there is something awesome about people with powers/abilities grouping up and working together (the avengers, justice league, xmen) that I just love and we got to see it in this book with our crew. I don’t know how Rick Riordan does it, but his books are hilarious! As always, the book is an action packed and fast paced experience. And especially with that book ending, I need to read House of Hades as soon as possible.

Wolf by Wolf – Rating: 4.5 Stars

From the moment I heard what this book was about, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. I love reading books involving history. This story tells an alternate version of World War 2 and how Germany and Japan won against the Allied Powers. The two countries, Germany and Japan, hold an annual motorcyle race throughout the continent to commemorate their victory of the war. At the end of the race, the winner gets to meet Hitler. This is where our main protagonist Yael comes in; she is a former death camp prisoner in charge of impersonating a previous winner to get into the race.Her abilities as a skinshifter (she can change her appearance at will) are utilized to complete her only goal: to win the race and kill Hitler. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I thought that the pacing was great, and the characters were so interesting. To me, I felt like I couldn’t connect to Yael as much as I could with other characters. I also feel like it is justifiable because of her ability that has her take the place of so many people. I just hope that she finds her own identity in the next book. I felt like I couldn’t trust any of the other characters because of how backstabby and cutthroat they were; that made me love them more. I didn’t know if I could trust anyone at all. All in all, this book was very enjoyable.

November 9 – Rating: 5 Stars

Colleen Hoover is so great with her contemporaries. I loved the concept of the characters meeting every November 9. There were so many highs and lows within this book; it had me jumping up and down with excitement one moment and screaming while chucking the book towards the other side of the room in the next. Colleen Hoover’s writing is so addictive that it felt like I flew through the whole book in a matter of minutes. I don’t want to say too much about this book because I feel like it’s best to just to read and go along with it all.

Frozen Tides – Rating: 4.5 Stars

I didn’t know that it was possible for the series to get even better, yet here we are. I absolutely loved Frozen Tides. The plot definitely picked up towards the second half of the story but it was all so great. I do want to have a full review about my thoughts and feelings towards this book so I don’t want to say too much yet. Just know that it exceeded my expectations and the fifth book isn’t coming fast enough.

 

And now for my March book haul. These are the books that I have bought this month:

image

(Synopses are linked to goodreads)

Since You’ve Been Gone

I’ll Give You the Sun

 

These are the books that I read in March:

Jokes on me. I sadly, didn’t read any books this month. I started so many books but I never got around to finishing them; I got into a slump. What caused this slump, you might ask? Hamilton. HAMILTON THE DANG MUSICAL. I was introduced to it at the beginning of the month and it was all I could think of during all of March (and to be quite honest, I still think about it all the time right now aka the middle of May).

Not my best reading month, but it was the greatest month for discovering something so perfect.

hamilton.jpg

(if you haven’t already listened to the cast album, what are you doing? Do it now pls!!!)

As always, thanks for reading!

 

2 thoughts on “February and March Book Haul & Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

