April and May Book Haul & Wrap up

I’m back again, and NOT THAT LATE THIS TIME. I’m slowly getting my reading groove back into place. I bought some books, and read some more. Here we go!

These are the books that I’ve bought this month:
image

(Linked to Goodreads)

The Winner’s Kiss

And these are the books that I’ve read in April:

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children – Rating: 3.5 Stars

This was another book where the movie trailer motivated me to pick it up. I thought that this book was solid. One of my favourite aspects of the book were its mysteriousness and chilling atmosphere. This is particularly evident in the beginning, when you’re thrown into a world you know nothing about. If you’re worried about this book being scary, don’t worry because it didn’t feel scary at all. The creepiest thing about the book are the vintage pictures. I found the characters likeable, although I didn’t feel any connections to them. Their peculiarities made me feel like it was X-men but with children. (super coolsssss) I think that this book could’ve done without the romance. I couldn’t pick up on any chemistry between the two people, but that is just how I feel. The plot moved in a slow to medium pace to set everything up and in motion, but picked up towards the latter half. Overall, I enjoyed this book and will definitely pick up Hollow City very soon.

(side note. I don’t like how they switched up Emma’s fire powers to air for the movie. WHY?)

I’ll Give You the Sun – Rating: 5 Stars 

This book was exactly what I was looking for to get me back into reading. I LOVED this book! Our main characters Noah and Jude are so rich with personality, depth, and are appropriately flawed. I loved reading about them so much. Within the first two pages, I was hooked into the story; the writing was so beautiful I couldn’t put the book down. I’ll Give You the Sun is told in alternating POV’s when the twins are 13 and 16 (Noah’s POV when they’re 13, and Jude’s POV when they’re 16). Reading the story like this kept me wondering about what happened in between those years to mess up their unbreakable bond. I absolutely loved how close they were with each other. Whenever I read a part that unlocked a piece of their problem, I wanted to scream for a little while into my book. More than anything, I wanted Jude and Noah to talk everything out and set everything straight. There were so many things I loved about this book! Reading about lgbt+ diversity was brilliant as well. Noah and his neighbour are SO CUTE. This book deals with relationships, love, loss, sexuality, art, and expression. The only downside I can think about is how everything neatly wrapped up pretty quickly but other than that, I thought this book was perfect.

For my May book haul, I purchased these books:

image

(Linked to Goodreads)

The Hidden Oracle

The Unexpected Everything

The Crown

These are the books that I read in May. (I had an amazing reading month!)

Winter – Rating: 4 Stars

A great conclusion to one of my favourite series. I’m sad to see it end, but I loved it. Winter took longer for me to read because it was such a thick book. 800 pages! Since it is the last book in the series, I don’t want to say too much about it. Everyone is constantly growing, and really steps up to the plate. I care about the cast of characters so much and I went into the book nervous for everyone. The world building for Luna was interesting to see as well; we finally got to see what life is like. There were so many intense moments when stuff really started to get down, but there were also an equal amount of moments that made me giddy because of the romance. CRESS AND THORNE MY SHIP MY OTP. The ending was exactly what I expected. Overall, I was very satisfied with Winter. Now I need to get my hands on Stars Above.

The Winner’s Kiss – Rating: 4 Stars

Once again, The Winner’s Kiss is the final book in the trilogy so I don’t want to go into too many details. My feelings toward this book ARE SO REAL. Right when the book kicked off I was swept back up into the savage warlike world that I loved reading about. I want to give the book a higher rating, but since I read the book in multiple sittings, I feel like the story didn’t hit me as hard as it would have if I read it all at once. I really want to go back and read it again in one sitting because it was that amazing. I was so worried for Kestrel because of how things left off from the last book. She continuously grows into a new person all while keeping her wits and evolving her cunning mind. Arin is the perfect balance between savagery and kindness. There are so many moments where you can see the switch happen between the two traits. I love them both the same separately and together; the can both hold their own, but together than can shine. I also loved all of the side characters as well. Once again, there was more diversity with an lgbt+ character. Which I LOVED. The plot was very strong and fast, although in the middle, I feel like it slowed down a tad. This book was everything I wanted and more. Marie Rutkoski knows how to make perfect finales. The Winner’s Trilogy is for sure one of my favourite series of all time.

The House of Hades –  Rating: 5 Stars

I think The House of Hades is my favourite in the series so far. This was the real book that kicked me into high gear with reading this month. It was so magnificent I don’t even have words. I have so much love for the team. The character development was through the roof in this instalment. Hazel is such a star; her abilities are expanding and she’s learning how to control her powers. Frank is growing to be such a great leader while still being his awkward self. I really wish that we got to see more of Piper in this book; what we did see of her was so kick butt and amazing. Jason got to know more about himself and is super supportive about the team. I still wish that we got to see him in action more. Most of the time, he was frozen, or late to battles. Leo, my baby, has matured so much after some of the events that took place. Some very awesome events, I might add. I was so happy to see Nico, my other baby, join the team for this book and help everyone one out when they needed it. His new bond with Jason makes me so happy. Percy and Annabeth not only grew mentally, but they grew emotionally as well. The situation that they were thrown in was so physically, emotionally, and mentally demanding, I don’t even know how they got through it. The place that they were in also put Percy and Annabeth into a place of reflection and made them think about all of their actions and decision which led them to that place. I’m trying to be vague because it is the 4th book in the Heroes of Olympus series hahaha. There were so many twists and turns, one especially with a particular character (which I was sadly spoiled for, but didn’t take away from my experience), that I didn’t see coming BUT I TOTALLY LOVED. You never know with Rick’s books where the story is going to go. The plot had so much action and once again had its usual hilarious charm. I’m so nervous going into The Blood of Olympus. I loved this book!

The Song of Achilles – Rating: 4.5 Stars

The feelings are so strong with this book oh my goodness I cannot even get my thoughts out properly. The Song of Achilles was another wild ride to read about. Going into this book, I didn’t know much about The Trojan War, or the Illiad; all I knew about this book was that Patroclus, was exiled to Phthia to live with Achilles and their relationship (LOVE AND FRIENDSHIP OH MY FEELINGS) with each other. I was never bored reading this book. I read more than half of the book in one sitting. The plot is so fast paced and there are so many twists and turns every few chapters; I was constantly surprised and engrossed in the story. The slow building romance between Patroclus and Achilles was so lovely. Patroclus is a very caring character and it is repeatedly shown throughout the book with how he treats others; he becomes familiar with everyone in the camp and takes care of them as the medic. Achilles was very cool and charming, but his pride makes me want to strangle him to death. This book was a flurry of emotions and I highly recommend it.

The Crown – Rating: 3 Stars

This book was exactly what I expected it to be like. We picked up right where we left off from The Heir in the middle of Eadlyn’s selection. Eadlyn was much more enjoyable to read in this instalment because of how much she grew as a character; she cares more about her family, the people in her kingdom, and her suitors a whole load more, rather than only thinking about herself. The Crown focused more about the politics in Illea and the romance, I felt, was put on the back burner. What I liked about the Heir and The Crown is that we never really know who Eadlyn is going to choose at the end. The romance that we did get to see was cute as usual. There were some revelations with some of the characters (WHICH I ONCE AGAIN LOVED) that really turned the Selection on its head.  And no spoilers of course, but I was happy that she ended up with the person that I wanted her to end up with. The ending felt seriously rushed. We went from slowly going through the Selection to picking the guy at the last possible moment. I wanted to get some closure with the characters since the series itself was expanded to 5 books. I was very shocked when I found out that this finale book was 279 pages. I mean, it’s the last book in the series and it’s that short?!? All in all, it was an okay book.

Illuminae – Rating: 4.5 Stars

 

I ended this month so strongly. I am so glad that I picked this book up. I tried reading the first few pages back in November, but I wasn’t feeling it at all so I left it alone for the longest time. Because of my first encounter of Illuminae, my expectations were extremely low; science fiction is the genre I reach out to the least as well, so I felt like I wasn’t going to like it. WOW I was so wrong. I absolutely LOVED Illuminae. It was the wildest book I have read in a while. Since this book is told in a super creative way (instant messages, reports, medical files, schematics, and all things cool), I was scared that I wasn’t going to connect with any of the characters. That was not the case here at all! All of the characters in this book had so much personality. EVEN THE AI. Our main character Kady is such a badass. Now, she isn’t just a badass for the sake of being a badass. Kady is a hacker who actually cares about what’s going on behind the scenes in the ship; she knows that the people in power aren’t telling the whole story and is determined to find the truth about everything. Kady is very spunky, sarcastic, and brave, but she is also fearful, vulnerable, and caring. I would have never thought that a character described in only surveillance tapes, emails, and military reports would be so complex. Our other main character, Ezra, was so fun to read. Ezra is hilarious, devoted, and an all around great guy (that you don’t get to see that much of in YA). There were so many times when I would laugh at what he would say, or what he would do. For me, he was the light in this very dark book; this book was surprisingly dark. I loved the relationship between Kady and Ezra. Although they broke up right before the book started, you can see how much they still care for each other and depend on one another. The other side characters like Byron and James also felt very real. I don’t want to get too much into AIDAN but I do want to say that he surprised me. An AI with character development? WOW. It was amazing. The plot moved so quickly and the action never stopped. This is another book with many twists and turns that leaves you in a perpetually surprised state. I am so excited for Gemina later this year. I cannot recommend this book enough! I hope everyone gives it a chance and reads Illuminae.

 

I am FINALLY on top of my wrap ups. I’m just super happy because these past two months were so great. As always, thanks for reading, and I’ll see you soon.

2 thoughts on “April and May Book Haul & Wrap up

  1. Dracoluxtris says:

    As someone who has been on the sidelines as you read House of Hades, I’m now motivated to re-read the book (along with the rest of the series) due to your proclamations of its greatness. Seriously.

    PS: POST MORE OFTEN, JAS!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

