December and January Book Haul & Wrap Up

This post has been so overdue but here it is! My book haul and wrap ups starting with the month of December.

Here they are (with linked synopses from Goodreads): 

image

Everything, Everything 

Fangirl

Carry On

The Rose Society

My True Love Gave to Me

The Lost Hero

The Son of Neptune

The Mark of Athena

The House of Hades

The Blood of Olympus

And these are the books that I’ve read this December:

All the Bright Places – Rating: 4 stars

Thank you to my friend, Kyla for giving this to me for my birthday. This book caught me by surprise. I loved the two perspectives that we got to look through, but I enjoyed reading through Finch’s POV more than Violets. This book made me want to wander and find places in my area to explore with someone.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters – Rating: 4 stars

I have succeeded in my goal of finishing the trilogy off before the year ended! It took a little while for me to get back into the world after reading the second instalment months ago. This book had the same unique characters, insanely rich world, and beautiful romance between Karou and Akiva. It was a beautiful ending.

My True Love Gave to Me – Rating: 3.5 stars

This collection of stories is perfect for the holiday season. Although they were cute and fun to read, I genuinely liked about 3 or 4 of the stories. My favourites would have to be from Stephanie Perkins, Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman, and Kiersten White. If you’re looking for something light and breezy to read, you should pick this book up.

The Lightning Thief – Rating: 4.5 stars

My plan is to finish the Percy Jackson series and The Heroes of Olympus in time for the release of the Trials of Apollo. It was just like how I remembered it when I first read this book in the 7th grade. TLT was action packed, hilarious, full of mythology, and great characters. Percy is so great.

The Sea of Monsters – Rating: 4 stars

I enjoyed SoM as well, but not as much as TLT. I kind of wish that the book was a little bit longer. I love how each book is a new quest that builds up into the greater story. Percy, Annabeth, and Grover are as fun as ever in this new adventure. We are introduced into some new characters, backstory, and even more mythology. I love where this series is headed.

And now for my January Haul. These are the books that I acquired this month:
image

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Hollow City

Library of Souls

Wolf By Wolf

Truthwitch

These are the books that I’ve read this January:

The Titan’s Curse – Rating: 4.5 Stars

I started off the year strong with The Titan’s Curse. At the time, it was my favourite Percy Jackson book (before I read TBOTL). We’re back again with Percy and the gang in a new adventure. We meet Thalia and the Di Angelo siblings under interesting circumstances and I love all of them. The story gets better and the quests gets more extreme as each book goes by.

The Battle of the Labyrinth – Rating: 5 Stars

This book was so action packed. We got to explore and see all of the monsters that lurk in it. I like how we got to see more of Nico in this book. There were so many moments where I laughed out loud because of how funny the dialogue was. I think the best part about this book was PERCY AND ANNABETH.  I think that The Battle of the Labyrinth is my favourite out of all five books.

The Last Olympian – Rating: 4.5 Stars

This was an epic conclusion to a great series. I’m so excited to finally start the next series. There are so many feelings going on with me. It seriously was so amazing.

Fangirl – Rating: 4 Stars

I think Fangirl and Carry On would be on top of my favourite Rainbow Rowell book list. At first it was a book I wanted to stay away from, but once I read it, I finally understood the hype about Fangirl. Cath was so relatable, but there were some moments when I wanted to shake her. I really liked her relationship with her sister and I wish that we got to see more of it. I can’t stress enough how much I loved reading about Levi. It was a refreshing change to see a love interest that wasn’t overly brooding or was the typical “bad boy” type. I loved how so many of the characters were believable and full of personality.

Carry On – Rating: 4.5-5 Stars

Carry On would have to be one of my favourites of the month. It was so nice to see a new take about a magical world that coexists with the real world. I thought that the way the spells were cast was an interesting use of word play. Without a doubt, my favourite thing about Carry On would have to be the romance. I wish that the other books in the “series” were published as well, just so that I could read about all of the characters from the beginning.

A Monster Calls – Rating: 4 Stars

This book was so sad; it was a book that I flew through. I think that it’s an important thing to read about coming to terms with loss and letting go. The illustrations were so beautiful and made a visual impact on me while reading it.

The Lost Hero – Rating: 4.5 Stars 

Exciting introduction to the new Heroes of Olympus series. I love how we have new sets of eyes into this world through the three main characters of this book. We also get to see some of the original characters which I thought was cool. I absolutely LOVE Leo. The end of the book left me so surprised, that I needed to read the next one right away.

Everything, Everything – Rating: 3-3.5 Stars

I thought this book was absolutely cute. Everything from the cover, the romance, the characters, and the doodles and pictures that added to the story was cute. I would’ve given this book a higher rating but I did not like the ending. I thought it was all every convenient how it all ended; the last bit of the book had me disappointed. I really appreciated the diversity with our main protagonist.

The Son of Neptune – Rating: 5 stars

Favourite HoO book as of right now. We get to explore new places in this world while also being introduced to some amazing new characters. I loved the fact that one of the new characters is from Vancouver, because that is where I’m from! Hearing about locations and other small details about Vancouver made me fangirl more than I should have. We got to see some of the returning characters once again and finally found out exactly where Percy was. I loved this book.

The Ice Dragon – Rating: 3 Stars

Great thing to read to pass the time. I  loved the illustrations that went along with the story. I haven’t read many dragon books in my life, but this was pretty good.

 

So this has been my first post in MONTHS and I hope to get back on track with my book blog. As always, thanks for checking this out!

Leave a Reply

