Book Review: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

attwn

Title: And Then There Were None

Author: Agatha Christie

My Rating: 4 Stars

Synopsis: All invited by the same person known as “U.N. Owen”, ten strangers arrive together on a mysteriously isolated island for their own personal circumstances. At dinner, a recorded message plays through the house and announces everybody’s deepest secret and by the end of the night, one of the guests end up dead. A storm leaves everyone stranded on the island while the guests begin to die one by one. Among them, one of the guests is the killer. But will anybody survive?

My Thoughts: I feel like this will be a shorter review than usual. I remember first hearing about And Then There Were None somewhere online and thought that it sounded so interesting. The synopsis right from the get go got to me. A mysterious invitation sent to ten strangers to stay on the famous Soldier Island located off the Devon Coast, all for a different purpose. Once the guests discover that they all have been lured one by one, they realize that coming to this island maybe wasn’t what they expected.

One of my favourite points of the story was how the deaths followed through with the nursery rhyme; it was one of the major plot drivers of the story. I thought that it was a great and unique way to get things going.

We had a large cast of characters in this story; ten very different individuals with their own purpose of being present on the island. Personally, I didn’t connect with any of the characters, but I thought it was for the best. It left me suspicious of everyone and wondering who the killer was.

The setting of the island added a new layer of mystery into the story. The island itself had many rumours surrounding it of who and where the owner is. Being stranded out on the island while a storm was happening made it a lot more difficult with calling for help. It was like their hope of being rescued diminished when the storm came rolling in.

For my first mystery, I would like to say that I had a great time with this and I thought that the plot was executed well. It kept me wondering who the murderer could be and who would he/she strike next.

This is all I want to say because this is a mystery novel and I want to keep as much information as possible in the dark. I do hope that you pick it up because this novel for sure is a great one.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

Leave a Reply

