Book Review: Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

gd

Title: Gathering Darkness (Book #3 in the Falling Kingdoms series)

Author: Morgan Rhodes

My Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis: (since this book is the third in the series, this will contain spoilers to those who haven’t read the first two books yet). The quest to find the Kindred intensifies as three teams are set out to possess the magic of the crystals. King Gaius seeks the Kindred out to conquer all of Mytica; but he’s not the only one hunting down the powerful crystals. The Kraeshians, Ashur and Amara, are the royal siblings from across the Silver Sea willing to intrigue and manipulate whomever possible in order to get the Kindred for themselves. Jonas and Cleo lead the Rebels with common interests to use the power of the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms. The Watchers ally with King Gaius to use Lucia’s powers to direct them to the Kindred. Magnus is stuck in the middle not knowing who to side with; he must choose between his own family, or justice. “The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica… but fate can be fickle when magic is involved.”

My Thoughts: FINALLY after what seems to be a month or so about finishing this book, I FINALLY HAVE THE REVIEW UP. Anyway, I am all about this series now it’s not even funny. I don’t even know where to begin. I still find it amazing how I started out with favouring Cleo the most. Now,  most of the characters are near and dear to me! We got to see so many relationships strengthen between what I like to call our “core four” (Cleo, Magnus, Jonas, and Lucia). Most of my favourite scenes involved a lot of Cleo and Magnus and their interactions. We were introduced to some new characters such as Princess Amara, Felix, and a few others that I shouldn’t say. I loved seeing the interactions between Nic and Prince Ashur, Cleo and Lucia, and Felix and Jonas. I really liked how we got to hear more about the Kindred, Eva, and Melenia.

This instalment was so action packed and intense I can’t possibly write down all of my thoughts. The amount of character development is so great. We finally have Magnus thinking more ambitiously about what he wants and how he is going to get it. Magnus also starts to care more about Cleo, but I’ll discuss that later in the spoiler section. I just love Magnus a whole lot more now. I have said before that Lucia isn’t my favourite out of the core four, but from this point onwards, I can see her being someone I root for. Her determination to find the Kindred is so strong; my only wish for her is to use the Kindred for herself and not for King Gaius. Lucia is seriously a force to be reckoned with. For Jonas, I feel like he isn’t doing a great job of being a rebel. If anything, he’s just getting a bunch of people killed. Nonetheless, I still believe in him; Jonas needs a nudge in the right direction (preferably by Felix). As for Cleo, my child, there were so many times where I felt nervous for her. Cleo still has her eye on the prize: to reclaim her kingdom from the terrors of King Gaius.

I liked how important magic was in this particular book. It’s always nice to hear more about the backstory and folklore about magic in this world. The twist and turns in the story are always shockers and unexpected. The addition of the Kraeshian siblings brings in a whole new layer of people adding to the story. The madness that they have around them will definitely cause so much chaos in the kingdom. I’m looking forward to it. Anyway, there is a lot I want to discuss about in the spoiler section so here I go.

**SPOILER SECTION**

Okay so I would like to say that I already like Felix and I seriously hope that we get to see more of him. I thought that it was awfully convenient that he showed up at the right place at the right time to save Jonas when he was getting beat. His badass-ness and mysterious personality makes him a person to look out for. Felix is a person of secrets and a tragic backstory; I thought he was shady person at first but slowly warmed up to him when I discovered that he was super supportive of Jonas. I pushed my suspicions about him towards the back of my mind and hoped that betrayal wasn’t going to be an issue.  I felt so sad when he left. He trusted Jonas and had to leave when he thought that Jonas was going to kill him. IF ONLY JONAS WAITED AND HEAR HIM OUT BEFORE ACTING ON WHAT HE HEARD. I just hope that he appears once again.

Finding the Kindred was seriously a wild ride. Alexius’s help made Lucia so much stronger I loved it. I did want her to relax for a bit and wait until she was ready until she found the last Kindred but her eagerness overthrew her fatigue and she had a vision like dream causing us to learn more about Eva. I liked how sneaky Cleo was sitting in their Kindred finding sessions and getting Jonas to steal the Kindred before anyone else could get their hands on them. I thought it was genius. I did get nervous for Cleo when Lucia confronted her. That was some scary stuff.

The relationships I want to talk more about are for sure Cleo and Lucia, Nic and Ashur, and Cleo and Magnus.

Although it started out as a ploy for Cleo to find the Kindred, I liked the relationship between her and Lucia. The two of them realized how similar they are in the situations that they’re in. Over this similar bond, they created a female friendship that I haven’t seen in while in this series. I feel like as the friendship progressed, Cleo did actually start caring for Lucia. Betrayal was inevitable, but I hope somehow that later in the series, they can become friends.

With Nic and Ashur, I wanted to see how their relationship would play out after Ashur kissed Nic in Rebel Spring. When Ashur teased him about it and felt kind of indifferent, I felt sad because I thought that he was interested in Nic. WELP. During the last part of the book where we find out that Ashur was actually down with helping Nic and showed interest in him, I was ecstatic! Finally someone with curiosity and no intention of killing people.  But it was all too good to be true. GOOD THINGS DON’T LAST IN THIS WORLD. Darn Amara, I saw it coming. What kind of sister kills her own brother?

And now for the ship that I’ve been meaning to talk about for the longest time. I am aboard this ship 100%. I support it to the ends of the Earth and hope that nothing bad happens to them. Of course, I’m talking about Cleo and Magnus. I absolutely loved the church scene between them. With Magnus drunk as heck, he had no filter to keep him from saying things that he shouldn’t have. I LOVED it. Right when we were getting somewhere good, Magnus knew that he was sharing too much and cut the moment by bringing up Theon. UGH. Way to ruin the moment. The morning after that situation killed me when Amara came out of his room right when Cleo went to go talk to Magnus. I was screaming so hard at my book oh my gosh. I’m laughing so hard just thinking about what I did. With little instances here and there, you can tell that they (at least Magnus) care for each other. My nervousness went through the roof when Cleo was almost going to be killed, but then Magnus killed the head guard before it all happened. When the walls between them were coming down in Limeros, this was when I knew that they were the two I was rooting for. My endgame.

“In the shadow my father has cast over my entire life, you are the only light I can see anymore.”

More than anything, I wish this all ends well.

Lucia is roaming around with the Fire Kindred man and I think that is extremely cool and dangerous. It totally adds to more of the story.

I wish everyone in the core four and their friends the best.

**SPOILER SECTION OVER**

I am all about the Fallen Kingdoms series, 100% on board. Morgan Rhodes is an absolute favourite author of mine. I cannot wait until Frozen Tides comes out. I will devour those words like no tomorrow once I get my hands on the book. Thanks as always for reading and I’ll keep in touch soon!

One thought on “Book Review: Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

Leave a Reply

