Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Required Reading

t5w

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly feature created by Lainey at Gingerreadslainey. The T5W’s information will be in the goodreads group here if you’re interested in participating next week. This week’s topic is favourite required reading books. Here we go!

5. The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

ptb

I forgot when I read this book but I think that it was around the time when I was in the 6th grade. I love how the main character just made a tollbooth and drove through it, transporting him to places called “the Island of Conclusions”, and “Digitopolis”. It was such a fun read about a bored kid with nothing to do and his adventures through the tollbooth.

4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

thg

I loved reading The Hunger Games in the 10th grade. It was a re-read for me when I read it with the class. Because of that, I already had the groundwork done and got the gist of the story; I enjoyed the story a whole lot more by looking into the symbols and themes. Reading The Hunger Games is always a fun time for me.

3. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

cw

Charlotte’s Web has got to be one of my favourite books of all time. I remember reading this story sometime during my elementary years and I completely loved it. Even after  my class finished this book, I would read it over again with my mom and fall in love with it over again. Charlotte’s Web gives me so many great memories.

2. Of Mice and Men by George Steinbeck

omam

Of Mice and Men was more of a recent read for me; I read it in 12th grade. This book hit me hard in the feelings. Towards the end, it seriously felt like a train ran over my heart and then all of the passengers in that train got out, and stepped directly onto my feelings. Something about George and Lennie’s dreams just tugged my heartstrings. I do hope that I re-read this in the future.

1. Lord of the Flies by William Golding

lotf

I remember reading this during 11th grade and being totally excited to see what happens to everyone. Once I heard that a group of young guys were stranded on an island without any rules or parental figures to guide them, I was all for this book; I wanted to know how they would fend for themselves. I heard that some parts of the story got intense but I had no idea how intense it would really be. Like, a bunch of little boys on an island? How bad could that possibly turn out? I was so wrong. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.

And that’s all for this week! Thanks, as always.

Leave a Reply

