Book Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Falling_kingdoms_book_cover

Title: Falling Kingdoms (Book #1 in the Falling Kingdoms series)

Author: Morgan Rhodes

My Rating: 3.5 Stars

Synopsis: This fantastical story takes place in three kingdoms of the country Mytica; Auranos the southern kingdom, Paelsia the middle kingdom, and Limeros the northern kingdom altogether make Mytica. Although the story is told in multiple points of view, the intertwining perspectives of “The Princess” Cleo, “The Rebel” Jonas, “The Sorceress” Lucia, and “The Heir” Magnus, along with some other characters, meld the story together into a fast-paced adventure that you won’t want to put down. Power hungry rulers, shocking murders, and quests to find magic all take place within these pages. With the country on the brink of war, some kingdoms will rise into victory while the others will fall.

My Thoughts: First and foremost, hooray to me because this is my first book review! Alright, so. I decided to pick this book up after witnessing the large amounts of hype surrounding it on YouTube. I figured, hey, if everyone is checking it out, then maybe I should give it a try. Anything fantasy is immediately right up my alley. This novel was also described as being a young adult version of Game of Thrones aka a series that I truly love. With these few reasons, I dove into the book with at least a few expectations.

I’ve got to say that I was slightly disappointed. This first instalment wasn’t memorable enough to stick into my mind, nor was it bad enough to make me discontinue reading the rest of the series. It was okay, solid; I was expecting so much more.

My favourite parts about this world would be the stories and histories about the Kindred (the four objects that contain the elementia magic). It was interesting to read about how two sisters took two of the Kindred for themselves and destroyed each other. I’m a sucker for folklore. The magic system was also interesting to look at. There are some witches in the book that wield a certain sort of power while a prophesied sorceress wields all four elements. Water, fire, air, and earth. Kind of like the Avatar.

I feel like the four main characters are off to a good start. We have Princess Cleo from Auranos, Jonas the son of a wine seller from Paelsia, and Prince Magnus and his adoptive sister Lucia both from Limeros. Personally, I’m rooting for Cleo. She is a smart, headstrong, and kick-butt character who isn’t afraid to manipulate and lie to whomever to survive this cruel world. And then there is Jonas. I’ve got to say, when Jonas was first introduced, I was not a big fan of him. Even passed his introduction, he irritated me with his constant need of vengeance against Cleo. I’d say that he was slightly obsessing over her. Now with Magnus, I didn’t know how to feel about him; I just couldn’t really connect with him. There was this one part in the story where I totally did not agree with his actions. I will explain this further in the small spoiler-ish section. I would have to say that Lucia is my least favourite out of the four perspectives. I just thought that her powers came to her out of nowhere and evolved immensely in such a short amount of time. Although this sounds like I’m not too fond of the characters, I really do like them.

SPOILER-ISH SECTION: Alright. The fact that Cleo and Theon loved each other kind of threw me off and somewhat took me by surprise. I mean, I get that they were around each other nearly 24/7 and have developed feelings for one another but that was something that I didn’t see when I read. It felt kind of instalove-ish to me. As a reader, I didn’t experience the growth of the relationship and it sort of bothered me.

I absolutely loved it when Jonas kidnapped Cleo in Paelsia. Their conversation had me so intrigued and I thought that their little back and forth banter was great. THE TENSION BETWEEN THEM IS SO REAL. I also loved that Cleo shows that she is not to be trifled with and that she is a master manipulator. Just wow everything is so great.

The scene with Magnus that I was talking about earlier in the review was the one with him and Lucia. Magnus kisses his sister Lucia and she is absolutely horrified. He tries to justify his actions by telling her that she is actually adopted. In what way would that make anything better, Magnus? Also, what a sucky way for Lucia to find out that she wasn’t born into the family. It just didn’t sit right with me. The whole “Magnus trying to make it alright by saying that they arent siblings” thing. Like come on dude.

*SPOILER-ISH SECTION OVER*

All in all, I will continue the rest of the books because I see a lot of potential in this series. That’s all for now. I hope that this was helpful to you in some way. The next review will be up soon.

Cheers!

One thought on “Book Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Leave a Reply

